RSS

The Door

12 Apr

Authors note
This story is in the form of letters, written by James, to Lord Tom. After much searching, I think I have found almost all of the letters, apart from one-three from the start, and maybe a few others. I never managed to find the letters Lord Tom sent to James. So to explain what i have guessed was said in the missing letters from the start. The main man, James, is a journalist, who lost his job, so is trying to find a big scoop to get back into the industry, he heard rumours about a mysterious house, but could find more information, so he went there himself, along with his dog.
So here is the first letter:
Date 25 March 2006

Dear Lord Tom
As you know from my previous letters, I was staying in the “deserted” house, trying to find out its secrets. Yet again i say I’m sorry for leaving you hanging with me outside the mysterious door, but as i have explained before, my paper supply ran out. But before I continue with my story, you asked for more information about the house itself.
The house is large and imposing, but neglected and worn down. I have only managed to explore a small amount of the inside of the house, and that was down to luck, because I only have access to the servants area, and the right-wing. I can’t even find the door that would lead me to the rest of the house. The house is of unusual design, all the ground floor windows are barred and 8ft off the ground, also most of them are very small. I guess the windows were bigger to start with, because the small windows look like they are much newer than the house. That is only one of the weird things about the house, another is there are only two doors. The main or front door, which is a huge wooden affair, it is locked, and i don’t have the tools to break through it. The other door is how I gained access, totally by luck. It is the servants door, it is tiny and hidden away, it is the only way I can get into the house.
All the rooms i have been in are the same, large dusty and dismal, it is clear I am the first person to enter them in ages, but i suspect the rooms I can’t get into are different. I have managed to see into two of them, because there is a small mound out the back of the house, and using my binoculars, I can see into the second floor rooms. I can’t be sure, but the furniture inside looks more modern, they don’t even look dusty, and there is no noise, none what so ever. But they can’t be, the front door hasn’t been used in centuries, also the servants door. It’s a mystery I’m determined to solve. So now back to my story
I was standing next to the door, both me and Spider were very tense and afraid. I wanted to go back to bed, but I knew if I went back I would never fall asleep. Spider didn’t want to go near the door, so it was just up to me. So I tried the door again and again, but it still wouldn’t budge. I turned to go back to my room and kicked the door in anger, as I did the noise got much louder, so I turned back and saw the door swinging open behind me. I could have kicked myself, all the other doors opened outwards, so I didn’t try to see if it would open inwards. I found out later, the door was kept closed by a small magnetic force, my kicking broke the force and the door swung open.
Without thinking I walked through, greatly excited as to what I would find, would my questions be answered? I stepped into a small dark area, and walked straight into a wall, then heard the door shut behind me, suddenly it was pitch black. I stumbled around till I felt a switch. I pushed it, and a row of electric lights came on, it was the first sign but I didn’t stop to think. I looked around and saw I wasn’t in a room after all, it was a narrow corridor, leading to the rest of the house, I guessed. But I couldn’t see far, about ten-fifteen ft down, there was an imposing steel door. To my horror it started to swing open, a hand with a gun shot out, and “bang” I passed out.
I woke up five days later, in the nearby village, the people from the house I was in had found me outside, and taken me in. I also had a letter saying “do not come back”. As you can guess, I was determined to find out more, so I will go back to the house tonight.

Hope you hear from me again. Brad

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 12, 2010 in Adventure, Mystery

 

3 responses to “The Door

  1. Mike

    April 12, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    great but you MUST continue it!

     
    • goireland

      April 12, 2010 at 6:08 pm

      i plan to but it could take ages 😦

       
    • hdlegg

      April 12, 2010 at 7:10 pm

      mike, i have written part 2 for the Chlowlow Journey, but it’s not loaded yet

       

Leave a Reply

 
