RSS

Half Asleep – a poem by me

14 Apr

Half Asleep

Half Asleep
yet half awake,
I lie on my bed,
drifting on a lake.

The sounds that I hear,
sound ever so loud;
with my neighbour talking,
to what seems a crowd.

I hear my mother cooking
my brother’s birthday cake.
And that’s when I notice,
I’m still awake!

I listen to the cars,
as they pass quickly by,
and the noise from the rugby ground,
as someone scores a try.

I hear my brother Michael,
climb quickly up the stairs.
and hear my father talking,
but can’t catch what he says.

And suddenly everything’s quiet,
and I give a loud yawn;
not to open my eyes,
till the noise of dawn.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 14, 2010 in Life, Poems

 

4 responses to “Half Asleep – a poem by me

  1. wordwand

    April 14, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    lovely, sound effects are omnipresent .well done.

     
  2. Josh

    April 15, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    thx mate!

     
  3. Tom

    April 26, 2010 at 7:24 am

    Fabulous!

     
  4. Josh

    April 26, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    thx tom! 😀 😎

     

Leave a Reply

 
